Kentucky Propane Gas Association

Untitled design (68).png

Latest KPGA News


KPGA Fall Meeting Held at Owensboro Community and Technical College

The Kentucky Propane Gas Association held its annual fall meeting in Owensboro at the local Community and Technical College on September 27.

Owensboro Community and Technical College (OCTC) is the premier state facility, which is training students in alternative fuel technology. KPGA and KYPERC are both sponsors of the college and because of that; propane is a leading alternative fuel source being taught at the campus. 

The meeting began with a board meeting and was followed by the annual meeting, which included the installation of officers. Officers will remain the same through 2018, with Shane Fortner (Fortner Gas) as president, Tony Thompson (Dealers LP) as first vice president and Clay Pierce (Prospect Propane) as second vice president. 

The board of directors were also announced at the meeting. These members are nominated and elected by marketer members throughout the Commonwealth in their respective districts. The 2018 board of directors are:
District 1: John Camp, Shane Fortner, Ricky Williams
District 2: Daniel Towns, Donald Buckley
District 3: Mark Hardy, Brian Stamm, Richard Winn

At the meeting, the vacant state director position was also filed by nomination and vote from the board of directors. The new state director is Jennifer Baxter with Greenwell Brothers Propane. Jennifer has accepted the position and looks forward to representing all KPGA members amongst the national board. 

After the annual meeting, Lewis Nall, director at OCTC, provided a comprehensive tour of the facility and informed KPGA members of the upcoming projects that the students would be working on regarding propane-fueled vehicles. 

KPGA continues to promote alternative fueled vehicles, and OCTC remains a close partner to advance the industry.

Click HERE to view more photos and a list of our sponsors!


2017 KPGA Summer Convention a Success

This year’s summer convention was held in Newport, Kentucky at the newly designed Aloft Hotel on the Levee. 

The summer meeting began Sunday, July 9, with the KPGA board meeting. At the opening reception, Jeni Carr performed live music on the patio as KPGA members enjoyed their time in fellowship and networking.

Monday morning began the business element of the summer convention with a list of distinguished speakers. The opening morning speakers represented everything from national associations to private industry. The night concluded with a group dinner at the Hofbrauhaus House, a popular German-based craft brew and food restaurant.

Tuesday kept the same trend of distinguished speakers, as the meeting began with an update from state Majority Floor Leader, Representative Jonathon Shell (R-Lancaster), and Senate A&R Chairman, Senator Chris McDaniel (R-Taylor Mill). Shell and McDaniel spoke about the 2017 session and gave an update on legislative issues that will be address over the interim and the 2018 General Assembly legislative session. Tuesday’s lunch featured a special guest speaker from the governor’s office. Warren Beeler, executive director for the Governor’s Office of Agriculture Policy, gave remarks regarding Governor Bevin’s agenda and reminiscing about being raised in rural Kentucky supporting the propane industry.

Following lunch was the first ever KPGA corn hole tournament, where proceeds were donated to the Thomas B. Bright, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Fund. The tournament raised over $700 for the fund. Tournament winners were Jason Carr and Ricky Williams, who chose to donate their winning proceeds back to the scholarship fund. A big thank you goes out to those two for their generosity to the scholarship fund! We would also like to thanks those that sponsored the event.

Click HERE to view more photos and a list of our sponsors!


Tod Griffin Receives KPGA President's Award

Each year at the KPGA Summer Convention, one individual is chosen as a President’s Award recipient. The 2017 President’s Award honored Tod Griffin, KPGA executive director. The award was a complete surprise to Tod and one that garnered a standing ovation from those in attendance at the dinner. Tod has served KPGA in some capacity for over 24 years and has been the executive director for the majority of those years. Tod has managed to grow the association through the years even with the mass amount of consolidation in the industry. He has been a friend and a resource for all members of KPGA and it is for those reasons that KPGA president Shane Fortner of Fortner Gas Company, chose Tod Griffin as the 2017 President’s Award recipient. Congratulations Tod, and thank you for your service! 


Bill DePriest Receives Ruth Rilling Lifetime Service Award

The Ruth Greene Rilling Lifetime Service Award is the most prestigious award that is given by the KPGA membership. This award isn’t given each year, rather only when the president sees fit that a member is eligible and deserving. 

This year, the Ruth Rilling award went to Bill DePriest, KPGA immediate past president. Bill has been in the propane industry for over 35 years, beginning in 1982. In that time, Bill has served in a number of positions for private companies and has always stayed active in KPGA. Bill served as president of the association from 2015-2016 and still serves on the executive committee. It is because of his service and dedication to the propane industry and the association that Bill was selected as the 2017 Ruth Greene Rilling Lifetime Service Award recipient. Congratulations Bill, and thank you for your service to Kentucky’s propane industry!


Propane Autogas School Buses


Lower total cost-of-ownership. A complete selection of quieter, safe buses from every leading brand.  Infrastructure that fits the budget. Propane autogas buses check all the boxes for school transportation officials — without requiring costly facilities updates.

School Buses Morning.PNG

Proudly Propane

Clean American Energy

Think of all the comforts your family loves about your home: relaxing by the fireplace; enjoying a long, hot shower; or putting on a favorite sweatshirt fresh out of the dryer. When you use propane appliances you can give your family even greater comfort, from endless hot water to softer clothing and cozier heat on cold winter days.