2018 KPGA Annual Membership Meeting


KPGA Holds Annual Meeting; Elects Leadership

The Kentucky Propane Gas Association held its annual membership meeting on September 13 in Frankfort at the Association’s new headquarters building. Prior to the annual meeting, the board of directors held their regular meeting to conduct business. The board and members in attendance heard from special guest Chris Crawford, Assistant State Fire Marshal who gave an update on the activities of the office. The board also heard from Eric Sears, the newly hired Engagement Program Manager-State Association Relations, Governmental Affairs, with the National Propane Gas Association. Eric spent some time discussing the pending Crane Rule implementation deadline and its effect on propane dealers. In new business, the board appointed Steve Morrison, with Kentucky Propane Plus to fill a vacancy on the board in district two for a one year term.

After the board meeting and a sponsored lunch, the annual membership meeting was held. President Shane Fortner called the meeting to order and conducted the election of officers for the upcoming year. The membership elected the following officers to lead the Association in 2019: Tony Thompson, Dealers LP Equipment, president; Clay Pearce, Prospect Propane, first vice president; and Don Buckler, Amerigas, second vice president.

Executive Director Tod Griffin announced the results of the district director elections to the board of directors for a three-year term.  In district one, Shane Fortner, Fortner Gas Company was elected; in district two, Daniel Towns, Allen County Farmers Service was elected; and in district three, Mark Hardy, Hardy Gas Company was elected.

After receiving a plaque from incoming president Tony Thompson in recognition of his leadership of the Association the past two years, Mr. Fortner thanked the membership for the honor of serving as president and encouraged members to stay active and engaged in KPGA. He thanked the sponsors and suppliers for their continued support of the Association as well.

The Annual Membership meeting was generously sponsored by the following companies:

kpga annual mem mtg 18 sponsors.JPG